vol 15 / no 1 / First and Second Quarters 2008

The UERMMMCI College of Medicine had a festive testimonial dinner to honor its 54 graduates who successfully passed the February 2009 Physician Licensure Examination.

Held at the Century Park Hotel last March 11, 2009, the testimonial dinner was well attended, with no less than Dr. Lucio C. Tan, the Medical Center’s Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, giving the inspirational message not only to the new physicians but to the rest of the UERM/UE community as well.

Led by February 2009 Board topnotchers Dr. Marky Jod A. Pandes and Dr. Don Leo S. Pepito, who ranked No. 1 and No. 5 in the exam, respectively (see related story), the new physicians were congratulated and given a warm welcome by top officials of both the academe and the hospital, as well as by members of the Board of Trustees who were in attendance. Both Dr. Pandes and Dr. Pepito received traditional cash awards given by the Medical Center to examinees who garner any of the Top Ten positions in the Board Exam. In addition, Drs. Pandes and Pepito received cash awards from top officials of the Medical Center.

Dean Alfaretta Reyes, in her welcome speech, announced that the College of Medicine received an award as the 2nd Top Performing School for the February 2009 Board Examination from the Board of Medicine during the oath-taking of the new physicians held the day prior at the Tent City of The Manila Hotel.

UERMMMCI’s 54 successful examinees in the February 2009 Physician Licensure Examination were Wynona B. Adriano, Adriyel O. Ancheta, Jasmine Marie O. Balbuena, Erna R. Basuel, Christian Giancarlo C. Cariaso, Jose Pocholo M. Castañeda, Jemar L. Castillo, Marlon B. Cruz, Flerida C. Cruz-Siscar, Mark Alan D. Danao, Jesseree C. Dazo, Michelle E. De Jesus, Alfatah T. Decampong, Nicolle Lourdes B. De La Cruz, Margaux Duane De La Merced-Ignacio, Christina Minette Y. Dolar, Jimmy P. Dumlao II, Cindy Emily C. Dy-Villacorte, Imelda S. Edodollon, Charina M. Garcia, Aisha R. Gosingan, Mia Angelie G. Goyenechea, Ian Benjamin T. Hizon, Frances Aurea D. Legaspi, Alvin A. Lorenzo, Andrew F. Marquez, Cerissa Marie T. Melendres, Joengelee R. Montalbo, Nelson D. Navarro, Romano O. Obmerga, Ryan Martin V. Obnamia, Sancho C. Pablo, Michelle T. Pablo, Marky Jod A. Pandes, Katherine M. Panganiban, Ella Mae N. Pastores, Barbra Ann S. Patawaran, Don Leo S. Pepito, Rhea Angelica L. Pobre-Jayma, Angelica Victoria R. Porcalla, Regie Alexis Jordan G. Quinagon, Mariam-Leah G. Quindipan, Jonani L. Sajo, Hasmin B. Salamat-Millora, Therese L. Santos, Eddie O. Silverio, Obie Katrina C. Siozon, Ma. Cheantal D. Sunga, Noelle Frances R. Tatad, Lennie B. Teves, Grace Anne Q. Ulnagan, Susan Sarah C. Ventura, Rholine Gem Martin S. Veto and Mark Henri C. Yañez.

The successful examinees were also honored by the entire UERM community with a thanksgiving celebration, with a bonfire and parade, organized by the Office of the President. This was held on February 24, 2009, at the Campus Quadrangle; the attendees included former Senator and present UERM Trustee Ramon B. Magsaysay Jr., UERM Vice Chairman Wilson T. Young and UE Marketing Department Executive Director Jesus T. Tanchanco Sr.

This was the Inspirational Message of Dr. LUCIO C. TAN, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, at the UERM Testimonial Dinner for New Physicians on March 11, 2009 at the Corregidor Room of Century Park Hotel.

Members of the UERM Board of Trustees, Dr. Romeo Divinagracia, Dr. Alfaretta Reyes, faculty members, our new doctors, ladies and gentlemen….

First of all, I wish to thank all of you for making UERM Number One.

Tonight, we are proud to join the ranks of the country’s best medical schools for several reasons: First, Doctors Marky Jod Pandes and Don Leo Pepito grabbed the top and fifth spots, respectively, in the recent Physician Licensure Examination.

Second, UERM’s first-time takers registered a 100% passing mark. This is way beyond the national passing average.

Third, despite the twin victories, UERM remains humble and levelheaded. We all know that there is much to be done to remain at the top.

As we gather today, we pay tribute to our new doctors. They worked extremely hard to earn their current place in the sun. To all of you, my warmest and sincerest congratulations!

But my gratitude goes as well to the school administrators, faculty and staff, whose skill and selfless dedication made it possible for UERM to reach the top. Without them, our young doctors would not have achieved so much in a short time.

As Chairman of the UE Ramon Magsaysay Memorial Medical Center Inc., it is my distinct honor to join some of the best professionals in the educational and medical fields. It is my sincerest hope that we can continue the wonderful job UERM has been doing all these years.

Everywhere I go, I always tell people about the great strides we are taking to make our school the best in the country, if not in the region.

I tell them that, over the years, I have devoted quite a significant slice of my corporate income to help doctors and institutions like UE and UERM. But my efforts and resources are not limitless. Therefore, UERM must also learn self-reliance and do its share in raising funds to sustain its momentum. It would help, of course, if school administrators would appeal to the generous support of UERM alumni who share our vision of making their Alma Mater the best that it can be.

By working together and pooling our resources, we can bring our school to greater heights.

UERM’s academic excellence makes us all proud. We are all jubilant. But amidst the celebration, let us pause and reflect on how best we can help society. I believe the best way is to continue to educate, share knowledge and be the best healers that we can be. This is our greatest legacy. This will always make us proud to be part of the UERM family.

Again, congratulations to all of you.


<< Previous Article >> Next Article

Home | Back to Top